JANUARY 6, 2018

Pursuant to the authority provided by the Virginia Democratic Party Plan, the Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee hereby calls an assembled caucus beginning at 11:30 AM at 411 King St, Mecklenburg Senior Citizens Center, VA. The purpose of the caucus will be to elect the new members of the Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee.

  1. Candidate Filing:

Each person seeking to become a member of the Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee shall file a Declaration of Candidacy form with the Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee Chair prior to the start of the caucus.

  1. Participation:

Every Democrat who is a registered voter in the Mecklenburg County is urged to attend and participate. Each participant must sign a written declaration the he or she:

  • Is a Democrat and not a member of any other political party;
  • Does not intend to support any candidate who is opposed to a Democratic nominee in the upcoming Election;
  • Has not participated in and will not participate in the nominating process of any other party for this election; and
  • Is registered to vote in Mecklenburg County.

Affirmative Action:

It shall be the duty and goal of all members of the Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee to seek out and encourage the broadest possible participation within the committee, and in its membership, of all duly qualified citizens without regard to race, sex, age, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, gender identity, ethnic identity, disability, or economic status.

III. Conduct of Caucus

The doors to the caucus will open at 11:00AM and will close at 11:30AM and no further persons will be permitted to enter. Those in line will be permitted to complete the check-in process and will be permitted to participate.

The Chair of the Mecklenburg County Democratic committee, or his or her designee, shall be the Temporary Chair of the Caucus and shall appoint a Temporary Secretary and such other Officers of the Caucus as is deemed appropriate. The Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee will prepare Temporary Rules for the Caucus. Participants will adopt permanent Rules for the Caucus.

ADOPTED:      12/14/17

Gloria Smith

Chair, Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee

Authorized by the Mecklenburg County Democratic Committee